Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Until I can get a voipo adapter, please help with these settings

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Jasper, TN
    Posts
    71

    Default Until I can get a voipo adapter, please help with these settings

    Since I don't have access to the alpha groups to search for further information, I am posting here.

    I am using an adapter originally from Packet 8. I have loaded full open firmware so everything can be set. I will buy a voipo adapter soon but need to use this in the meantime.

    When I first entered the SIP settings, everything worked, I could send and receive calls. Now, with changing nothing, I can no longer dial a number but I can receive calls still. After dialing the number I get a busy signal, whether doing 7 or 10 digit dialing.

    Here is what I have set up:

    server address: codeblue.voipo.com
    port: 5060
    domain name: (blank)

    phone number: (my current phone number but am using a virtual # until porting is done) and current phone number and password for authentication.

    sip port 5060

    base rtp and sip port: 5060

    dial plan: xxxxxxx|1xxxxxxxxxx|x.T|x.#

    Send Out-Of-Band Telephone Events: RFC 2833
    RFC2833 signalling using payload value: 101
    Call Signalling Packets: B8
    RTP packets: B8

    lots of other info but I don't think it is affecting dialing out

    codecs in use:

    G711U
    G711A
    G729

    adaptive jitter buffer: 30ms


    any suggestions on why I can no longer call out but was working fine a couple of days ago?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Irvine CA
    Posts
    519

    Default Re: Until I can get a voipo adapter, please help with these settings

    Hello Robin, let me know when you have a few minutes, today, this week, sometime when you have access to make outbound phone calls through your P8 device, and I will see if I can find anything / do my best to help, however keep in mind we are not the most familiar with P8's devices. Thanks!


    P.S. as far as letting me know, just shoot me a PM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Kitsap County, WA.
    Posts
    728

    Default Re: Until I can get a voipo adapter, please help with these settings

    Try this- "domain name" = codeblue.voipo.com

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Jasper, TN
    Posts
    71

    Default Re: Until I can get a voipo adapter, please help with these settings

    Quote Originally Posted by chpalmer View Post
    Try this- "domain name" = codeblue.voipo.com
    Hi, thanks for the reply but I had tried that already.

    As mentioned, it was working great sending and receiving calls. The next day with nothing being changed on my end I can no longer make calls.

    I loaded the firmware for a Leadtek BVA8052 onto the packet 8 adapter (which is basically the same adapter) and it has fully opened it up so that I can change any settings on the adapter needed so hopefully I'll be able to use it somehow until I get a voipo branded adapter.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Jasper, TN
    Posts
    71

    Default Re: Until I can get a voipo adapter, please help with these settings

    Quote Originally Posted by VOIPoBrandon View Post
    Hello Robin, let me know when you have a few minutes, today, this week, sometime when you have access to make outbound phone calls through your P8 device, and I will see if I can find anything / do my best to help, however keep in mind we are not the most familiar with P8's devices. Thanks!


    P.S. as far as letting me know, just shoot me a PM.
    Thanks Brandon, just sent you a PM

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Jasper, TN
    Posts
    71

    Default Re: Until I can get a voipo adapter, please help with these settings

    Got the packet8 adapter to work and is working great now so far.

    It's a 2 line adapter so whatever strange reason, I setup line 2 with the voipo info and it's working great!

    Gonna do some test calls with Brandon later but so far ok.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: Until I can get a voipo adapter, please help with these settings

    What does Packet8 provide for hardware? Is it the Linksys PAP2? It should say somewhere on it. Those aren't too bad, and there are some good ways to tune performance (especially if you're behind NAT). I did a ton of voip deployments in offices, so ... been there, already bled blood on most of the problems. hehe.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Irvine CA
    Posts
    1,542,128,043

    Default Re: Until I can get a voipo adapter, please help with these settings

    They have their own proprietary devices.

    Quote Originally Posted by Jamyn View Post
    What does Packet8 provide for hardware? Is it the Linksys PAP2? It should say somewhere on it. Those aren't too bad, and there are some good ways to tune performance (especially if you're behind NAT). I did a ton of voip deployments in offices, so ... been there, already bled blood on most of the problems. hehe.
    PAP2's aren't bad and that's almost what we went with. At the end of the day though, Linksys is very difficult to work with with volume.

    As an example, most other manufacturers will easily point the devices to our provisioning servers ahead of time. With Linksys they will with the right volume, but it's a huge hassle. Lately most of the people I've talked to said it's almost like they're trying to phase those out the way they're handling some of the accounts.

    The hardware is good...it's just the company that I don't like.
    Timothy Dick
    Founder/CEO
    VOIPo.com

    Interact with VOIPo: Twitter, Facebook

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •