Thread: Grandstream ATA - LAN port issues?

Default Grandstream ATA - LAN port issues?

Hello all,
    I am new to VOIPo and received my Grandstream adapter yesterday. I made the connections as directed (Internet to WAN, Router to LAN), but with that my router is unable to access the internet. I have tried rebooting all devices, but still have the same problem.

I can make calls by connecting the ATA to my router, but dont want to do that.

Any suggestions?

Thanks!!

Default Re: Grandstream ATA - LAN port issues?

Make sure the lans of the two devices are on different subnets. Your router will not work if the address on both wan and lan are on the same subnet. I think its 192.168.0.0/24 on the grandsteam...

Make the lan on your new ATA something like 172.16.100.0/24 or any other private lan subnet would work...
    I Void Warranties.

I had a similar problem when I first connected. Issue was my wireless router was 11 years old! So rather than try to tweak it, I bit the bullet and bought a brand new router for about $50 bucks. The key secret from my new wireless router was to FIRST make all connections hard connected -- then connected the computer wirelessly. All is well. I still have a small issue with incoming calls that is being looked at -- but this is not as issue with the network setup. VIOPo support is aware of my issue and is working on it.

Ken

Quote Originally Posted by chpalmer View Post
    Make sure the lans of the two devices are on different subnets. Your router will not work if the address on both wan and lan are on the same subnet. I think its 192.168.0.0/24 on the grandsteam...

Make the lan on your new ATA something like 172.16.100.0/24 or any other private lan subnet would work...
    Thanks for your reply. I am not sure what you mean. I only have that one ATA (Grandstream). I am connecting the ATA to the modem (in WAN) and then to the router (via LAN). Do you mean I should change the address of the router? How do I do that?