PDA

View Full Version : how does number porting work with cancelling old service?

kevm
03-23-2009, 10:52 AM
ok, I am new at this number porting thing, but I finally got my porting date of 3/19 and it seems to have ported. On 3/20, I got an e mail from ATTcv regarding my request to disconnect service which I assumed was part of the porting process. I believe that my port is complete so I called ATTCV this morning to cancel service. I was told that the request is still in process and that if I cancel, I could lose the number. I was informed that once the entire porting process is complete that I will receive a second e mail from ATTCV and that then the account will be cancelled and that no further billing will occur. I was also told that this could take 15 to 30 days.
Does anyone know the procedure with ATTCV? Was the rep that I spoke to correct? I am so F,n tired of paying both of these companies, I could scream.
If I wanted to pay 2 VOIP bills each month for one line, I would have just kept my land line. It would have been cheaper and less problematic.

Thanks

VOIPoTim
03-23-2009, 12:41 PM
As long as the port has completed, you should be fine to cancel anytime on their end.

I just verified that you're 100% ported as of 3/19.

NY Tel Guy
03-23-2009, 12:57 PM
ok, I am new at this number porting thing, but I finally got my porting date of 3/19 and it seems to have ported. On 3/20, I got an e mail from ATTcv regarding my request to disconnect service which I assumed was part of the porting process. I believe that my port is complete so I called ATTCV this morning to cancel service. I was told that the request is still in process and that if I cancel, I could lose the number. I was informed that once the entire porting process is complete that I will receive a second e mail from ATTCV and that then the account will be cancelled and that no further billing will occur. I was also told that this could take 15 to 30 days.