PDA

View Full Version : A More Secure VoIP Service?

ferdowsi
05-26-2009, 02:30 PM
Does VoIPo have any plans of providing a more secure voice transmission?

Tnx.

usa2k
05-26-2009, 02:36 PM
Is there really a marketplace for the trouble of doing that?

burris
05-26-2009, 02:38 PM
I think some of us are becoming quite paranoid.

As I surf around with no special credentials, I have virtually no problem in finding out things I don't even want to know about people I hardly know..:rolleyes:

ferdowsi
05-26-2009, 03:56 PM
Marketplace? Maybe not for Harry and Harriet homeowner.
Paranoid? If I were simply making calls to friends and family I might agree.
===
I'm an amateur when it comes to VoIP but I have a fairly good understanding of IP and my needs might be a little different than usa2k & burris'. Perhaps beyond the scope of VoIPo's mission.

The frames I’m seeing with a protocol analyzer shows my VoIPo connection uses MD5 during the SIP REGISTER and nothing for the media stream.

I’m looking for a provider which encrypts media streams and uses more robust method during the SIP REGISTER than MD5. Something which doesn’t send a uname in plain text.

I’m sure this type of service would accommodate the average person though. However, my needs are a bit greater. Issue such as- toll fraud, phone-based social engineering, identity theft and message tampering to make a few. Making financial transactions over an insecure RTP connection is not an option for me. Nor would some of the conversations in conference calls.

I do not use 2.4, 5.8 or DECT 6.0 for this reason. 2.4 and 5.8 are even less secure than my current VoIPo protocols. I noticed the use of a softphone with RTP send un-routable IP address across the public internet in plain text.