PDA

View Full Version : Softphone Questions

Darrena
06-20-2009, 10:17 AM
I am new to VOIPO and I have a couple of questions regarding the Softphone option:
1) Does it support ZRTP or SRTP?
2) Can I use the softphone without dropping the ATA? For example I am on the road and want to call home or someplace else without disconnecting the phone at the house
3) Are there any specific codecs it supports?

Thank you!

Darrena
06-20-2009, 10:30 AM
I can partially answer my own questions I think:
1) Authentication Digest authentication but the servers did not seem to support SRTP or ZRTP. Not a huge deal as long as digest is used to not send my password in the clear.
2) I can run the softphone and the ATA stays registered but I can't seem to call home. It connects but no audio. This might be because I am testing from the same location as the ATA though. I also can't seem to call my number from my cell when connected with the softphone.
3) I was able to register with G.711 and G.722 but not with GSM so the higher bitrate codecs work but I need to find something equivalent to GSM for when I am on the road.

Added question, is the softphone blocked overseas?

Thanks!

Xponder1
06-20-2009, 06:15 PM
2) I can run the softphone and the ATA stays registered but I can't seem to call home. It connects but no audio. This might be because I am testing from the same location as the ATA though. I also can't seem to call my number from my cell when connected with the softphone.

Thanks!

My guess is your connected to the wrong server.
I run X-Lite 24x7. My ATA stays connected. You must connect to the EXACT same server your ATA connects to. I just called out using X-Lite to the home number and it works fine. Could also be a routing issue (perhaps your softphone needs configured to use a different port) your having but I promise your situation is not the norm.

VOIPoTim
06-21-2009, 05:21 PM
We've made a few changes to how we handle softphones recently. As far as your questions...