PDA

View Full Version : simulring vs google voice

dude
01-21-2010, 12:33 PM
Hi,

I'm new to both Viopo and Google Voice. There's a fair amount of overlap between the GV and Voipo simulring + voicemail, so I'm wondering how you are choosing between them or integrating them.

Which do you use as your primary (give out) number, which do you use for voicemail, etc.

Basically what's working best for you and what isn't?

Thanks.

JimDog
01-21-2010, 01:40 PM
Google Voice is the primary number I give out to people for a few reasons:

I've had it longer. I joined when it was GrandCentral before Google bought it.
I have 4 phone numbers I want to be reached at: VOIPo, office, personal cell and work cell. VOIPo currently only allows you to simulring one destination simultaneously. (I prefer not to use Ring In Order since the person calling me needs to wait for all my phones to ring in sequence before they get sent to voice mail. If I make the ring times shorter to help with that, I might not pick up the phone in time.)
VOIPo simulring is still officially a beta feature.
Google Voice supports SMS text messaging so I don't have to give out a separate mobile phone number to receive text messages. (However, they don't support MMS messages so I still need to give out my mobile number if I want to receive them.)
Google Voice transcribes voice mail messages. Although the transcription is usually pretty bad unless the caller talks slowly and clearly, most of the time you can get an idea of what the message is about if you're not able to listen to it right away. I never rely solely on the transcription though and always end up listening to the voice message at some point.

Aside from those items, I could accomplish everything I use Google Voice for with VOIPo.