Thread: Thank you for the "Call Recording" feature

Default Thank you for the "Call Recording" feature

Tim; not sure what portion of the forum to put this, so I'm putting it here.

Some here know what I do for a living. I've been in the telecommunication business for more than 30 years. Currently, I maintain the phone system; as well as the leased circuits such as fiber, metro-ethernet, DS3, T1, cellular, etc... for the department of transportation for my state. I have a rather large phone system with more than 15 gateways and a number of standalone key systems and pbx's. Recently, a young lady who works for the department of transportation passed away in her sleep. Aside from the understandable mourning of her husband and parents, the mother had mentioned to the department head where the young lady worked, that she really loved hearing her daughter's voice on her voicemail. The department head asked me if there was a way they could get a copy of her voicemail. We don't have any recordings other than those tied into the E-911 system. So it seemed pretty bleak. The mother said that she understood, but it was a nice gesture by the department head.

I thought about it and called them back and said to hold on. (The voicemail was attached to a department number, and the department head was getting ready to "RE-RECORD" the message with a different person assigned). I told her to hold off for a couple minutes.